Light a Candle for Troy Davis

I’ve been following this case for the last few months since I’ve signed the petition to appeal Troy Davis’ death sentence on Change.org.  Yesterday at the gym I did my cardio as I tuned into MSNBC to follow the story in real time.  Lots of feelings and emotions stirred up as I watched and listened to interviews from Davis’ family, MacPhail’s family, and the witnesses involved.  Tears streamed down my face as I watched the nation come together and take a stand for this innocent man.  There was a sign of hope as the authorities granted a temporary reprieve at the set time of his execution, but in the end justice did not prevail.

If you’ve been following my social networks, you have an idea of how deeply saddened I am by this loss.  In a matter of a few days the masses came together in support and to fight injustice. As I signed onto facebook and twitter #TroyDavis was everywhere.  I got into a few words with some people who were upset at the  sudden concern of the public. “Tomorrow they’ll forget,” they say. While I understand their anger and frustration, I don’t believe that bitching gets us anywhere. Sadly, injustice and ignornace will always exist.  I too am disgusted by the selfishness and greed in the world… But if it angers you, use the anger as fuel to make that change! This was just one case… there are millions of Troy Davis’ in the world. There is always work to be done.

Ghandi’s words have become a cliche to many but it has been my motto for a long time: “BE the change you want to see in the world.” So simple, yet so empowering.  WE need to be the example instead of complaining.  Bitching and complaining without a solution is foolish.  I’m a firm believer that each person possesses the power to make a positive difference in this world, but not all of us realize it. I’m not saying you have to make signs, protest and get in faces… but at the very least, educate yourselves.  Be grateful that you get to take your next breath, and make the most of it. Why not want better for yourselves? For your children? For the world? Where will you go from here?

One response to “Light a Candle for Troy Davis

  1. I’ve been following this case for years. Taking action and staying educated and spreading the word for years now didn’t save Troy Davis. I guess all we can do is be grateful for each breath like you said.

Leave a Reply

