A Day In the Life…

After work and a doc appointment yesterday I had an awesome meeting with the team at Capitol Roots.  Capitol Roots is not just a dance studio, but an amazing group people that bring the community together and inspire the youth. I have a great deal of respect for them and I’m so happy to be working with them. I got there just in time to watch the end of Moon Lee’s popping class class full of 8 year olds. I love watching them dance..these kids GOT IT! At our meeting I updated the team on some projects I’m currently working on to see how they can fit in.

First thing was Auburn Hip Hop Congress Urban Arts Workshop Fall Series (by: Natalie and Rocky). These two have been doing an amazing job with Hip Hop Congress in their hometown and they make me proud to be part of such an awesome organization. I’ve been in Hip Hop Congress since about 2003 (CSULA Chapter), joined the Sacramento Chapter last year, and now focusing on the Auburn Chapter… It would be great to one day be a part of the National Board. The following is what is scheduled for the Urban Arts Fall Youth Workshop Series in Auburn:

9/7 Orientation

9/14 “Breakin/Turntables”- w/ BGirl Temper and JRas of SouLifted

9/21 “Beats! Beats! Beats!” – (Beatboxin’ and Making Beats) w/ Butterscotch and Youth Leader Beat Maker Brandon Scott

9/28 “Writin’ and Recitin’” w/ 2009 Sammies Winner and Motivational Speaker Random Abiladeze

10/5 “How to Rap 101 and Mic Control” w/ Righteous Movement’s Skurge and Sol Collective’s Andrew Bell (aka Defeye)

10/12 “Freestylin’ w/ Task1ne” at Sol Collective in Sacramento (Off Site Event)

10/19 “Aerosol Arts and Mural Design” w/ Dustin Machado

10/26 “Hip Hop and Community Forum/Leadership 101” led by HHC Youth and Open to the Community

11/2 “Hip Hop Career Day/Music Business 101” – Urban businesses welcome! Clothing Companies, Studios, Magazines, Blogs, Promotion Companies, etc! Show youth you can make a living out of Hip Hop!

11/9 Getting the Word Out/ Photo and Video Documentation and Street Teams

11/16 Event Planning/Community Service/Advanced Curriculum

11/23 Event Planning/Advanced Curriculum

11/30 Event Planning/Advanced Curriculum

12/7 Event Planning/Advanced Curriculum

12/14 Event Planning/Advanced Curriculum

*For more information please contact Natalie Pohley (530) 368-4455 nataliepohley@gmail.com or via Facebook.

I really want to connect Capitol Roots and Auburn HHC Youth because they are two very dope organizations that have so much going on for the youth and the community.

The next thing I wanted to update the Cap Roots team on was the “Capitol Hip Hop and Arts” Festival put on by Chinua Rhodes and his production company ‘Keys to the Moon.’  I was approached by Chinua a little over a month ago on facebook and we sat down to see what they had in mind and how I could help. I loved the purpose of the event.. anything bringing together the Hip Hop community is ok with me.  Also this benefits “I Trust Him Ministries” which is a positive organization for the youth.

One objective of this event is to change any misconceptions and promote a positive outlook on urban music while giving back to our community. “

Performances include:

  • Skynet (Digital Martyrs, Task1ne, Madflows, Mr. Lingo)
  • Ms. Vbye
  • Century (of MLS)
  • Gameboy
  • Izreal
  • Blee
  • Sean Stewart
  • Jozey Wells]
  • Chozin (Auburn Youth)
  • Complex
  • Chinua Rhodes

This event is located in the I and 18th Street Alley downtown. Free and All Ages. There will also be live art, dancers, turntablism, A Beer Garden for 21+ and Food Vendors will also be available. There is booth space available for your organization/company. Please contact Chinua Rhodes on Facebook or e-mail keys2themoon@gmail.com.

Capitol Roots is hosting an “Eye for an Eye” breaking competition that same day but will have a representative at the event. “Eye for an Eye” is a 1 on 1 breaking competition with a $200 prize for the winner! This event will be located at Fair Oaks Community Club Center 4150 Temescal Street in Fair Oaks, CA.  It starts at 4PM and admission is $8 before 5pm and $12 after… This event is a fundraiser for The Capitol Roots Scholarship Program.

Another event that I needed to update the Cap Roots team on was none other than “BEATS and LUMPIA.” So DJ Rated R and I thought of this even earlier this year but we were both very busy with projects and didn’t get to launch it when we had planned. It all worked out because Danielle of Shine Clothing offered to help… Perfect timing!  The flyer will be made very soon but here’s what’s up:”Beats and Lumpia” a celebration of Filipinos in Hip Hop for Filipino American Heritage Month on Thursday, October 28th at the Sol Collective 2574 21st Street, Sacramento, CA‎. Included with admission is a live show (emcees, DJ’s, dancers, live art, poetry) and Lumpia! More food will be for sale at the event. Also, we MAY have a Lumpia Cook offf.. What do you think? Some orgs on deck: CSUS Filipino Club, FANHS (Filipino American National Historical Society) and Capitol Roots. We have some great emcees, DJ’s, dancers, spoken word artists, comedy lined up for this show. Stay tuned! (Go PacMan! hehe)

My last update at the meeting was on the “Bring it Back Tour” –Reuniting the Elements of Hip Hop.

“The Major goal of this tour is to “bring it back” to the feel of the old block parties where negative issues, magnified through the lenses of everyday struggles, can get put on hold and allow the community to enjoy the art of life and the beautify of working together for a common cause.”

I’m extra excited to be a part of the Bring it Back Tour. Tyler Stark, aka Mr. Fritzo and Rahman Jahmal are some amazing guys that I really look forward to working with to make the mission and the vision of Bring it Back a reality here in Sacramento. Learn more at www.bringitbacktour.com.

Of course Capitol Roots is always always working and grinding for the community. Please check out the classes offered at www.CapitolRoots.com.  We will be planning a fundraiser for the San Bruno Fires soon… and Trifecta planning is already in effect. Please stay tuned.

Lots of things to discuss and talk about in one meeting… It never stops! Tomorrow my girl NorCalChika will be having her farewell show on www.kumsfm.com and so many people will be in attendance! Don’t forget to tune in Thursday evening from 10pm-1am PST. I’ll be sad.. but I wish her well in her new ventures in Portland! Friday, off to the Bay for the Detroit Edition of Frequency starring Black Milk, Elzhi (Slum Village) and House Shoes.. This is gonna be dope.  This Saturday I’ll be attending a meeting w/ everyone involved on October 9th’s Capitol Hip Hop Festival so we can all be up to speed. Sunday I meet with Shine Clothing and DJ Rated R to finalize details and flyers for “Beats and Lumpia.” And on Monday I’m pretty sure I’m meeting with the beautiful DLRN Camp to see what they’re up to. That’s one group I’m definitely down for.. I respect their hustle, love their team and dig their music.

So.. some people ask what it is I do.. Well, I’m here to help bring the community together through Hip Hop!  You can find me at your local Hip Hop shows or big ass music festivals.. I support benefits and workshops when I can. You can find me networking my ass off in order to BUILD… Meeting people, businesses, organizations left and right.  I try to document everything.. it doesn’t always work out. Believe me, I have pictures and videos like CRAZY! Time is something I wish I had more of. I’m still a student and I have a fulltime 9-5. What I do is not easy. Not everyone will agree with me, but that’s life! I stay positive and focused. I know what my intentions are and that’s all that matters. I’m grateful to have met some talented, respectable, amazing, dope people thus far… I do this for you.

peace.love.hiphop.
misschief916

One response to “A Day In the Life…

  1. Whew! I’m tired just reading about your day. It’s great to hear that you are so involved in building with like minded people/organizations. Hip Hop is lucky to have such a wonderful person on it’s team!

Leave a Reply

